## NATIONS UNIES HAUT COMMISSARIAT AUX DROITS DE L'HOMME



## UNITED NATIONS HIGH COMMISSIONER FOR HUMAN RIGHTS

Téléfax: (41-22) 917

Télégrammes:UNATIONS, GENEVE

Téléx: 41 29 62

Téléphone: (41-22) 917 79000 Internet www.ohchr.org E-mail: InfoDesk@ohchr.org



Address: Palais des Nations CH-1211 GENEVE 10

## THE UNITED NATIONS PRIZE IN THE FIELD OF HUMAN RIGHTS

## List of previous recipients

FIRST AWARD - December 1968 - 20th Anniversary of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights

- Manuel Bianchi (Chile), Ambassador, Chairman of Inter-American Commission on Human Rights
- René Cassin (France), Original member of Human Rights Commission
- Chief Albert Luthuli (posthumously) (South Africa), President of the ANC
- Mehranguiz Manoutchehrian (Iran), Attorney/Legal Adviser and Senator
- Petr Emelyanovich Nedbailo (Ukraine), Member, Human Rights Commission
- Mrs. Eleanor Roosevelt (posthumously) (United States), First Lady, President of the Human Rights Commission

SECOND AWARD - December 1973 - 25th Anniversary of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights

- **Dr. Taha Hussein** (posthumously) (Egypt), Professor of Literature
- C. Wilfred Jenks (posthumously) (UK), Director-General of International Labour Office
- Maria Lavalle Urbina (Mexico), Lawyer, Professor
- **Bishop Abel Muzorewa** (Zimbabwe), President of the ANC, Bishop of United Methodist Church
- Sir Seewoosagur Ramgoolam (Mauritius), Prime Minister of Mauritius
- U Thant (Myanmar), Secretary-General of the United Nations

THIRD AWARD - December 1978- 30th Anniversary of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights

- Begum Ra'Ana Liaquat Ali Khan (Pakistan)
- Prince Sadruddin Aga Khan (Iran)
- **Reverend Dr. Martin Luther King** (Posthumously) (USA)
- Mrs. Helen Suzman (South Africa)
- The International Committee of the Red Cross
- Amnesty International
- Vicaria de la Solidaridad (Chile)
- Union nationale des femmes de Tunisie

FOURTH AWARD - December 1988- 40th Anniversary of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights

- Baba Murlidhar Devidas Amte (India), Lawyer
- John Humphrey (Canada) Director, United Nations Division of Human Rights
- Prof. Adam Lopatka (Poland), President, Supreme Court of Poland
- Bishop Leonidas Proaño (Ecuador)
- Nelson Mandela (South Africa)
- Winnie Mandela (South Africa)

FIFTH AWARD - December 1993- 45th Anniversary of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights

- Mr. Hassib Ben Ammar (Tunisia), President of the Arab Institute for Human Rights
- Dr. Erica-Irene Daes (Greece), Chair/Rapporteur, Working Group on Indigenous Populations
- James Grant (USA), Executive Director of UNICEF
- The International Commission of Jurists
- The Medical Personnel of the Central Hospital of Sarajevo
- **Dr. Sonia Picado Sotela** (Costa Rica), Jurist, Vice President of the Inter-American Court of Human Rights
- Ganesh Man Singh (Nepal), Supreme Leader of the Nepali Congress
- The Sudanese Women's Union
- **Father Julio Tumiri Javier** (Bolivia), Founder and President, Permanent Assembly of Human Rights in Bolivia

SIXTH AWARD – December 1998 – 50<sup>th</sup> Anniversary of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights

- Sunila Abeyesekera (Sri Lanka), Director of Inform
- Angelina Acheng Atyam (Uganda), who has worked to secure the release of children in rebel captivity in Uganda
- **Jimmy Carter** (U.S.A.), former President of the United Sates
- Jose Gregori (Brazil), Head of the Brazilian National Secretariat for Human Rights
- Anna Sabatova (Czech Republic), one of the founding members of "Charter 77"
- A Prize was given in honour of all **human rights defenders**.

SEVENTH AWARD – December  $2003-55^{\text{th}}$  Anniversary of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights

- Enriqueta Estela Barnes de Carlotto (Argentina), President of the Asociación Abuelas de Plaza de Mayo [Association of Plaza de Mayo Grandmothers]
- **Deng Pufang** (China), Founder and Director of the China Disabled Persons' Federation
- The Family Protection Project Management Team ( Jordan)
- **Shulamith Koenig** (USA), Executive Director of the People's Movement for Human Rights Education
- The Mano River Women's Peace Network in West Africa (network of women's organizations from Sierra Leone, Liberia, and Guinea)
- Sergio Vieira de Mello (Brazil), special posthumous award