English Site French Site Spanish Site Russian Site Arabic Site Chinese Site OHCHR header
Make a donation to OHCHR



The Human Rights Committee is composed of 18 independent experts who are persons of high moral character and recognized competence in the field of human rights.

Members are elected for a term of four years by States parties in accordance with articles 28 to 39 of the Covenant. Members serve in their personal capacity and may be re-elected if nominated.

The membership of the Committees as follows:

Also available:
Information on former Human Rights Committee members from 1977 to 2014
Information on former Human Rights Committee Bureau members from 1977 to 2014

Name of Member
Term expires on 31 December

Mr. Yadh BEN ACHOUR (Vice-Chairperson)


Mr. Lazhari BOUZID Algeria 31.12.2016
Ms. Sarah CLEVELAND United States of America 31/12/2018
Mr. Olivier De FROUVILLE France 31/12/2018
Mr. Ahmad Amin FATHALLA Egypt 31.12.2016
Mr. Yuji IWASAWA Japan 31.12.2018
Ms. Jelic IVANA Montenegro 31/12/2018
Mr. Duncan Muhumuza LAKI Uganda 31/12/2018
Ms Photini PAZARTZIS Greece 31/12/2018
Mr. Mauro POLITI Italy 31/12/2018
Sir Nigel RODLEY (Chairperson) United Kingdom 31.12.2016
Mr. Victor Manuel RODRÍGUEZ-RESCIA Costa Rica 31.12.2016
Mr. Fabián Omar SALVIOLI - [English | French | Spanish] Argentina 31.12.2016
Mr. Dheerujlall .B. SEETULSINGH Mauritius 31.12.2016
Ms. Anja SEIBERT-FOHR Germany 31.12.2016
Mr. Yuval SHANY Israel 31.12.2016
Mr. Konstantine VARDZELASHVILI Georgia 31.12.2016
Ms. Margo WATERVAL (Vice-Chairperson) Suriname 31.12.2018


Country-specific information