11th Meeting of States parties to the Convention - Elections 2018

Election of nine Members of the Committee on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities to replace those whose terms are due to expire on 31 December 2018

The Committee on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities is composed of 18 independent experts - persons of high moral character and recognized competence in the field of human rights.

In accordance with article 34, paragraph 7, the term of nine of the members elected will expire on 31 December 2018. Thus, nine seats in the Committee must now be filled through an election.

The eleventh session of the Conference of the States parties to the Convention will take place in New York from 14-16 June 2018. The election of nine members of the Committee is scheduled to take place on 12 June 2018 during this meeting.

Members serve in their personal capacity and may be re-elected once if nominated.

Nominations are due by 12 April 2018. The nominations and biographical data, in accordance with the biographical data form (see below documentation no. 3), should be submitted to the Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights, United Nations Office at Geneva, CH-1211 Geneva 10 and in ELECTRONIC VERSION (check the form in Word below) to

NOTE: Nominations will ONLY be processed when submitted in WORD FORMAT and WITHIN THE PAGE LIMIT,(1 and a half pages-Roman text 12)

In its current composition 1 expert of the Committee is a woman, and 17 are men; with their geographical distribution as follows: 1 expert from Latin America  and the Caribbean, 5  from Africa, 5 from Asia-Pacific, 4 from Eastern Europe, , and 3 from Western Europe and other States.

Of the 9 experts whose mandates expire on 31 December 2018, 1 expert is a woman and 8 are men; 1 is from Latin America and Caribbean, 2 from Africa, 2 from Asia-Pacific, 2 from Eastern Europe, , and 2 from Western Europe and other States.

In April 2017, the Committee on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities adopted a statement on achieving gender balance and equitable geographical representation in the elections of members of the Committee. The Committee expressed concerns that because of the 2016 elections only one woman was left as member of the Committee. It also expressed concern about the shifting geographical balance in the membership. The Committee called upon States parties to be mindful of the need to promote the geographical balance and the inclusion of women with disabilities in elections of the Committee to secure equal geographical representation and restore gender balance. The statement is also available below


  1. Note verbale on elections: E | F | S
  2. Members whose term expires on 31 December 2018: E | F | S
  3. Biographical Data Form: E | F | S
  4. Provisional Rules of Procedure: E
  5. Handbook for Treaty Body Members
  6. Statement of the Committee on achieving gender balance and equitable geographical distribution: E
  7. Regulations Governing the Status, Basic Rights and Duties of Officials other than Secretariat Officials, and Experts on Mission: E

Following list of Names, Nationality and date of terms of mandate expires



Term expires

Mr. Ahmad AL SAIFSaudi Arabia31.12.2020
Mr. Danlami Umaru BASHARU (Vice-Chairperson)Nigeria31.12.2018
Mr. Monthian BUNTANThailand31.12.2020
Mr. Imed Eddine CHAKER
F | E
Ms. Theresia DEGENER (Chairperson)Germany 31.12.2018
Mr. Jun ISHIKAWAJapan31.12.2020
Mr. Samuel Njuguna KABUEKenya31.12.2020
Mr. Hyung Shik KIM (Rapporteur)Republic of Korea 31.12.2018
Mr. Stig LANGVAD Denmark 31.12.2018
Mr. Lászlo Gábor LOVASZYHungary31.12.2020
Mr Robert George MARTINNew Zealand31.12.2020
Mr. Martin Babu MWESIGWA Uganda31.12.2020
Mr. Carlos Alberto PARRA DUSSANColombia31.12.2018
Mr. Coomaravel PYANEANDEE (Vice-Chairperson)Mauritius31.12.2018
Mr. Valery Nikitich RUKHLEDEV
E | R
Russian Federation31.12.2020
Mr. Jonas RUSKUSLithuania31.12.2018
Mr. Damjan TATIC (Vice-Chairperson) Serbia 31.12.2018
Mr. Liang YOUPeople's Republic of China31.12.2018

Received Names of Candidates for the 2018 Elections

* Received before official deadline: 14/04/2018 - waiting on Biodata.

Please click on the name of each candidate to open his or her Biodata in Word version.

















Republic of Korea




Country-specific information