In this section

Advisory Committee home

About the Advisory Committee




NGOs participation


Room reservation

Academic Friends of the Advisory Committee

Thematic issues


Regional arrangements

Leprosy-related discrimination

Unaccompanied migrant children and adolescents

Illicit Funds

Past mandates and achievements

Related links

Human Rights Council

UN home page

General Assembly


Background information on the Advisory Committee

Pursuant to Council resolution 5/1 paragraphs 65 to 84, the Human Rights Council Advisory Committee has been established to function as a think-tank for the Council and work at its direction. The Committee held its first meeting in August 2008. It meets twice a year, for one week in February immediately before the March session of the Council and for one week in August.

Mandate & Functions

  • The Advisory Committee provides expertise to the Council in the manner and form requested by it. It mainly focuses on studies and research-based advice.
  • The Committee may also propose within the scope of the work set out by the Council, for the latter’s consideration and approval, suggestions for further research proposals.
  • In its work, the Committee should be implementation-oriented and the scope of its advice should be limited to thematic issues pertaining to the mandate of the Council, namely promotion and protection of all human rights.
  • It shall not adopt resolutions or decisions.


The Committee is composed of 18 independent experts from different professional backgrounds representing the various regions of the world (5 from African States; 5 from Asian States; 2 from Eastern European States; 3 from Latin American and Caribbean States, and 3 from Western European and other States). Experts are nominated by Governments and elected by the Council. Elections normally take place at the September session of the Council.

At the thirtieth session in September 2015, elections were held for seven seats, two from African States, one from Latin American and Caribbean States and one from Western European and other States.

Members serve for a period of three years and may be re-elected once. Their term of membership starts on 1 October of the year of their election. 

The present composition of the Advisory Committee - with an indication of the expiration of the term of membership in brackets - is as follows: Ibrahim Abdulaziz Alsheddi (Saudi Arabia, 2018); Mohamed Bennani (Morocco, 2017); Laurence Boisson de Chazournes (France, 2017); Lazhari Bouzid (Algeria, 2019); Mario Luis Coriolano (Argentina, 2018); ; Karla Hananía de Varela* (El Salvador, 2019); Mikhail Lebedev* (Russian Federation, 2019); Xinsheng Liu (China, 2019); Kaoru Obata* (Japan, 2019); Obiora Chinedu Okafor (Nigeria, 2017); Mona Omar (Egypt, 2019); Katharina Pabel (Austria, 2018); Anantonia Reyes Prado (Guatemala, 2017); Changrok Soh (Republic of Korea, 2017); Ahmer Bilal Soofi (Pakistan, 2017); Imeru Tamrat Yigezu (Ethiopia, 2018); ) and Jean Ziegler* (Switzerland, 2019).