English Site French Site Spanish Site Russian Site Arabic Site Chinese Site OHCHR header
Make a donation to OHCHR

The Working Group on Arbitrary Detention - Members

Mr. Seong-Phil Hong (Republic of Korea), appointed in 2014

Mr. Seong-Phil HongMr. Seong-Phil Hong (Chair-Rapporteur) teaches international law, human rights, and ethics in investment at Yonsei Law School as an Associate professor while also leading the Asian Law Center. He serves as an expert member of the Asian Council of Jurists of the Asia Pacific Forum, the collectivity of the NHRIs in the region. He has worked as a conciliator for the ICSID under the World Bank. On the human rights campaign front, he has been actively engaged in the advocacy activities, over the last 20 years with focus on such issues as the North Korean human rights and the WW II enforced sexual slaves, while also touching upon those of the responsibility of multinational enterprises and the legal redress for historical injustices. He was appointed to the Working Group in May 2014.

Mr. José Guevara (Mexico), appointed in 2014

Mr. José GuevaraMr. José Guevara (First Vice-Chair), has a Ph.D. in Human Rights from the Carlos III University of Madrid. Is the author of numerous professional publications, has lectured in various universities in Mexico and abroad, and has extensive practical experience in the area of human rights and international criminal law. Among its former responsibilities Mr. Guevara was Deputy Ombudsman at Mexico City’s Human Rights Institution, Head of the Human Rights Programme at the Universidad Iberoamericana, Latin America and Caribbean Coordinator for the Coalition for the International Criminal Court and Deputy Director General for Human Rights and Democracy at the Mexican Ministry of Foreign Affairs. Has also served as Head of the Human Rights Unit at the Ministry of the Interior and Minister responsible for human rights issues at the Mexican Mission before the United Nations Office at Geneva. Mr. Guevara became a member of the Working Group on June 1st, 2014.

Mr. Sètondji Adjovi (Benin), appointed in 2014

Mr. Sètondji AdjoviMr Sètondji Roland Adjovi (Second Vice-Chair) holds a position of Assistant Professor at Arcadia University where he teaches African affairs, international law including human rights. In addition, he designs study abroad opportunities in Africa for The College of Global Studies, and coordinates its programmes in France. He is also visiting scholar at Université Paris II (2013-2015). He has previously worked at the International Criminal Court (2006-2007) and at the International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda (2003-2006 and 2008-2009). He is in the network set up by the African Foundation for International Law and sits in the editorial committee of the African Yearbook of International Law and that of the International Legal Materials. He was appointed to the Working Group in May 2014.

Mr. Mads Andenas (Norway), appointed in 2009

Mr. Mads AndenasMr. Mads Andenas is a Professor of Law at the University of Oslo and has held senior academic appointments in the United Kingdom as the Director of the British Institute of International and Comparative Law and the Director of the Centre of European Law at King’s College in London.  He is a Visiting Fellow of the Institute of European and Comparative Law, University of Oxford and a Senior Research Fellow at the Institute of Advanced Legal Studies, School of Advanced Studies, University of London. He is also a member of the Executive Council of the International Law Association. He has been a visiting professor at the University of Rome La Sapienza, the University of Paris I (Sorbonne), and Sciences-Po, Paris. He became a member of the Working Group on Arbitrary Detention on 1 August 2009.

Mr. Vladimir Tochilovsky (Ukraine), appointed in 2010

Mr. Vladimir TochilovskyMr. Vladimir Tochilovsky, is a Ph.D. holder and has authored numerous professional publications, including books on international criminal justice and human rights in criminal justice. He taught at Mechnikov National University (Ukraine).  Mr. Tochilovsky has an extensive practical experience in international criminal justice and is an expert in jurisprudence of the international criminal tribunals and courts.  He was a representative of the United Nations Criminal Tribunal at the United Nations Preparatory Committee and Commission for the International Criminal Court (ICC) and drafted guidelines on criminal procedure for the ICC.  He became a member of the Working Group on Arbitrary Detention on 1 May 2010.