English Site French Site Spanish Site Russian Site Arabic Site Chinese Site OHCHR header
Make a donation to OHCHR

The United Nations Prize in the Field of Human Rights  

List of previous recipients

FIRST AWARD - December 1968 - 20th Anniversary of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights

  • Manuel Bianchi (Chile), Ambassador, Chairman of Inter-American Commission on Human Rights
  • René Cassin (France), Original member of Human Rights Commission
  • Chief Albert Luthuli (posthumously) (South Africa), President of the ANC
  • Mehranguiz Manoutchehrian (Iran), Attorney/Legal Adviser and Senator
  • Petr Emelyanovich Nedbailo (Ukraine), Member, Human Rights Commission
  • Mrs. Eleanor Roosevelt (posthumously) (U.S.A.), First Lady, President of the Human Rights Commission

SECOND AWARD - December 1973 - 25th Anniversary of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights

  • Dr. Taha Hussein (posthumously) (Egypt), Professor of Literature
  • C. Wilfred Jenks (posthumously) (UK), Director-General of International Labour Office
  • Maria Lavalle Urbina (Mexico), Lawyer, Professor
  • Bishop Abel Muzorewa (Zimbabwe), President of the ANC, Bishop of United Methodist Church
  • Sir Seewoosagur Ramgoolam (Mauritius), Prime Minister of Mauritius
  • U Thant (Myanmar), Secretary-General of the United Nations

THIRD AWARD - December 1978- 30th Anniversary of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights

  • Begum Ra’Ana Liaquat Ali Khan (Pakistan)
  • Prince Sadruddin Aga Khan (Iran)
  • Reverend Dr. Martin Luther King (Posthumously) (USA)
  • Mrs. Helen Suzman (South Africa)
  • The International Committee of the Red Cross
  • Amnesty International
  • Vicaria de la Solidaridad (Chile)
  • Union nationale des femmes de Tunisie

FOURTH AWARD - December 1988- 40th Anniversary of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights

  • Baba Murlidhar Devidas Amte (India), Lawyer
  • John Humphrey (Canada) Director, United Nations Division of Human Rights
  • Prof. Adam Lopatka (Poland), President, Supreme Court of Poland
  • Bishop Leonidas Proaño (Ecuador)
  • Nelson Mandela (South Africa)
  • Winnie Mandela (South Africa)

FIFTH AWARD - December 1993- 45th Anniversary of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights

  • Mr. Hassib Ben Ammar (Tunisia), President of the Arab Institute for Human Rights
  • Dr. Erica-Irene Daes (Greece), Chair/Rapporteur, Working Group on Indigenous Populations
  • James Grant (U.S.A.), Executive Director of UNICEF
  • The International Commission of Jurists
  • The Medical Personnel of the Central Hospital of Sarajevo
  • Dr. Sonia Picado Sotela (Costa Rica), Jurist, Vice President of the Inter-American Court of Human Rights
  • Ganesh Man Singh (Nepal), Supreme Leader of the Nepali Congress
  • The Sudanese Women’s Union
  • Father Julio Tumiri Javier (Bolivia), Founder and President, Permanent Assembly of Human Rights in Bolivia

SIXTH AWARD – December 1998 – 50th Anniversary of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights

  • Sunila Abeyesekera (Sri Lanka), Director of Inform
  • Angelina Acheng Atyam (Uganda), who has worked to secure the release of children in rebel captivity in Uganda
  • Jimmy Carter (U.S.A.), former President of the United Sates
  • Jose Gregori (Brazil), Head of the Brazilian National Secretariat for Human Rights
  • Anna Sabatova (Czech Republic), one of the founding members of "Charter 77"
  • A Prize was given in honour of all human rights defenders.

SEVENTH AWARD – December 2003 – 55th Anniversary of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights

  • Enriqueta Estela Barnes de Carlotto (Argentina), President of the Asociación Abuelas de Plaza de Mayo [Association of Plaza de Mayo Grandmothers]
  • Deng Pufang (China), Founder and Director of the China Disabled Persons’ Federation
  • The Family Protection Project Management Team (Jordan)
  • Shulamith Koenig (U.S.A), Executive Director of the People’s Movement for Human Rights Education
  • The Mano River Women’s Peace Network in West Africa (network of women’s organizations from Sierra Leone, Liberia, and Guinea)
  • Sergio Vieira de Mello (Brazil), special posthumous award

EIGHTH AWARD – December 2008 – 60th Anniversary of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights

  • Louise Arbour (Canada), former UN High Commissioner for Human Rights
  • Benazir Bhutto (posthumously) (Pakistan), former Prime Minister and leader of the opposition who was assassinated.
  • Ramsey Clark (U.S.A.), former Attorney General
  • Dr. Carolyn Gomes (Jamaica), of Jamaicans for Justice
  • Dr. Denis Mukwege (Democratic Republic of the Congo), co-founder of the General Referral Hospital of Panzi
  • Sr. Dorothy Stang (posthumously) (Brazil), murdered nun, Human Rights Watch