Header image for news printout

UN disability rights committee to review Cuba, Niger, Norway, Rwanda, Saudi Arabia, Senegal, Spain, Turkey, and Vanuatu

GENEVA (8 March, 2019) – The UN Committee on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities will meet in Geneva from 11 March to 5 April 2019 to review the following countries: Cuba, Niger, Norway, Rwanda, Saudi Arabia, Senegal, Spain, Turkey, and Vanuatu.  

The above are among the 177 States that have ratified the Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities, and so are required to submit regular reports to the Committee, which is composed of 18 international independent experts. 

During the meetings in Geneva, Committee members will hold dialogues with the respective State delegations. They will also hear from organisations of persons with disabilities, NGOs, national human rights institutions, and independent monitoring frameworks. 

The open, public sessions will be held in Room XVII of the Palais des Nations in Geneva on the following schedule:

Monday, 11 March

10:00-13:00 Opening of the session

Tuesday, 12 March

15:00-18:00 Niger

Wednesday, 13 March

10:00-13:00 Niger
15:00-18:00 Turkey

Thursday, 14 March

10:00-13:00 Turkey
15:00-18:00 Rwanda

Friday, 15 March

10:00-13:00 Rwanda

Monday, 18 March

15:00-18:00 Spain

Tuesday, 19 March

10:00-13:00 Spain
15:00-18:00 Senegal

Wednesday, 20 March

10:00-13:00 Senegal
15:00-18:00 Saudi Arabia

Thursday, 21 March

10:00-13:00 Saudi Arabia
15:00-18:00 Vanuatu

Friday, 22 March

10:00-13:00 Vanuatu

Monday, 25 March

15:00-18:00 Norway

Tuesday, 26 March

10:00-13:00 Norway
15:00-18:00 Cuba

Wednesday, 27 March

10:00-13:00 Cuba

The recommended hashtag for the meeting is #CRPD21 and the sessions will be webcast live at http://webtv.un.org. More information, including reports from the States under review and from civil society, are available on the session Web page

The Committee will publish its findings on the respective countries, known officially as concluding observations, here on 5 April 2018.



The Committee on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities monitors States parties’ adherence to the Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities which to date has 177 States parties. The Committee is made up of 18 members who are independent human rights experts drawn from around the world, who serve in their personal capacity and not as representatives of States parties. The Committee’s concluding observations are an independent assessment of States’ compliance with their human rights obligations under the treaty. 

For media requests, please contact Julia Grønnevet in Geneva at +41 22 917 9310 or by e-mail to jgronnevet@ohchr.org

More information is available on media accreditation

Learn more with our videos on the Treaty Body system and on the Committee on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities! 

Follow the UN human rights office on social media! We are on Twitter @UNHumanRights, Facebook @unitednationshumanrights and Instagram @unitednationshumanrights