Header image for news printout

UN torture prevention body concludes visit to Ghana

GENEVA/ACCRA (11 June 2019) — The United Nations Subcommittee on Prevention of Torture has completed its first visit to Ghana from the 26th of May to the 1st of June 2019. The aims of the visit were to advise on the establishment of a National Preventive Mechanism against Torture (NPM) and, by visiting places of detention, examine the treatment of people deprived of their liberty and the safeguards in place for their protection against torture and ill-treatment.

“Ghana ratified the Optional Protocol to the Convention against Torture in 2016 and should have established its NPM by the end of 2017. It has not yet done so, and we hope our visit will encourage it to do so through an open, transparent and inclusive process”, said Sir Malcolm Evans, who led the four-member delegation.

The delegation visited police stations, prisons, a juvenile correctional facility, psychiatric hospitals, and medical services provided by prayer camps, conducting confidential interviews with both detainees and staff members. It also held meetings with Members of Parliament, Government officials, the Supreme Court, the Commission on Human Rights and Administrative Justice, professional associations and civil society representatives.

“It is clear that there is much to be done to ensure that those deprived of liberty are not at risk of ill-treatment and that the conditions in which they are held are appropriate. The problem of overcrowding is well known and widely acknowledged: our visit has been able to highlight some of the practical consequences of this to those who are responsible” said the head of delegation. ‘We hope that swift and effective action will now be taken and we look forward to continuing what has been a constructive set of discussions so far’, he added.

The Subcommittee will submit a report to the Government of Ghana, which will contain observations and recommendations arising from the visit. This report will remain confidential unless the Government of Ghana decides to make it public, and the subcommittee encourages it to do so.

The delegation was composed of Sir Malcolm Evans, Head of Delegation (United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland), Marija Definis-Gojanovic (Croatia), Nika Kvaratskelia (Georgia), and Margret Osterfeld (Germany).


For media inquiries, please contact Media Officer Julia Grønnevet at +41 (0) 22 917 9310 or by e-mail to jgronnevet@ohchr.org.


The Subcommittee on Prevention of Torture monitors States parties’ adherence to the Optional Protocol to the Convention Against Torture which to date has been ratified by 89 countries. The Subcommittee is made up of 25 members who are independent human rights experts drawn from around the world, who serve in their personal capacity and not as representatives of States parties. The Subcommittee has a mandate to undertake visits to States parties, during the course of which it may visit any place where persons may be deprived of their liberty. 

Learn more with our videos on the Treaty Body system and on the Subcommittee on the Prevention of Torture

Follow the UN human rights office on social media! We are on Twitter @UNHumanRights, Facebook @unitednationshumanrights and Instagram @unitednationshumanrights