Header image for news printout

UN Human Rights Committee to review Equatorial Guinea, Mauritania, Netherlands, Nigeria, Paraguay, and Tajikistan

GENEVA (27 June 2019) — The UN Human Rights Committee, which monitors implementation by States of the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights (ICCPR), will meet in Geneva from July 1 to 26 to review the situation for human rights in Equatorial Guinea, Mauritania, Netherlands, Nigeria, Paraguay, and Tajikistan.

The public sessions will take place in the ground floor conference room of Palais Wilson in Geneva and will be Webcast live at http://webtv.un.org/. The recommended hashtag for the meeting will be #CCPR126.

All the countries listed above have ratified the ICCPR, and so are required to be reviewed regularly by the Committee of 18 international independent experts. The Committee will also hear from NGOs and national human rights institutions.

More information, including submitted reports by the States, may be found here.

At the end of its session the Committee will publish its findings (known as concluding observations) here on July 25, and present them at a press conference in Press Room 1 at 13:30 (to be confirmed).  



The Human Rights Committee monitors States parties’ adherence to the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights, which to date has 172 States parties. The Committee is made up of 18 members who are independent human rights experts drawn from around the world, who serve in their personal capacity and not as representatives of States parties. 

For media requests, please contact Julia Grønnevet in Geneva at +41 22 917 9310/jgronnevet@ohchr.org. More information is available on media accreditation.

Learn more with our videos on the Treaty Body system and on the Human Rights Committee

Follow the UN human rights office on social media! We are on Twitter @UNHumanRights, Facebook @unitednationshumanrights and Instagram @unitednationshumanrights