The 53 States members of the Commission on Human Rights are elected by the United Nations Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC). This election, which usually takes place in May each year, elects approximately a third of the members of the Commission. The members serve for three-year periods and can be re-elected. The Commission has no permanent members.

The 53 seats of the Commission are distributed as follows:

African States 15, Asian States 12, Eastern European States 5, Latin American & Caribbean States 11, Western Europe & Other States 10.

Composition of the Expanded Bureau of the 62nd session of the Commission on Human Rights

Members (1947 - 2006)

Previous Chairpersons

Bureaux (1964 - 2006)