40th anniversary of the UN Voluntary Fund for Victims of Torture

Webinar In commemoration of International Day in Support of Victims of Torture
40th anniversary of the UN Voluntary Fund for Victims of Torture 

25 June 2021 (15:00 – 16:30 Central European Time (CET))


In English, interpretation to French and Spanish


  • Juan E. Mendez, Professor of Human Rights Law in Residence, American University, Washington College of Law and member, Board of Trustees, UN Voluntary Fund for Victims of Torture.



  • Ilze Brands Kehris, UN Assistant Secretary-General and focal point on reprisals 
  • Claude Heller, Chairperson, UN Committee against Torture
  • Suzanne Jabbour, Chairperson, UN Subcommittee on Prevention of Torture
  • Nils Melzer, UN Special Rapporteur on Torture
  • Vivienne Nathanson, Chairperson, UN Voluntary Fund for Victims of Torture

Civil Society:

  • Lucille Abeykoon, Coordinator, Human Rights Office Kandy (Sri Lanka)
  • Victor Mhango, Director, Centre for Human Rights Education Advice and Assistance (Malawi)
  • Elçin Türkdoğan, Programmes Coordinator, Human Rights Foundation of Turkey (Turkey)
  • Norberto Liwski, President, Comité para la Defensa de la Salud, la Etica y los Derechos Humanos (Argentina)

With the support of

  • The Group of Friends of the UN Voluntary Fund for Victims of Torture (Argentina, Austria, Chile, Czech Republic, Denmark, Germany, Georgia, Ireland, Italy, Lichtenstein, Luxemburg, Mexico, Norway, Peru, Switzerland and the United States of America)
  • H.E. Mr. Morten Jespersen, Ambassador and Permanent Representative of Denmark to the UN in Geneva, Co-Chair of the Group of Friends

The UN Voluntary Fund for Victims of Torture
Apply for a grant
Contribute to the Fund
Others involved
Contact information

United Nations Voluntary Fund for Victims of Torture,
OHCHR-UNOG, 8-14 Avenue de la Paix
1211 Geneve 10,

Tel: (41) 22 917 9315
Fax: (41) 22 917 9017
Email: unvfvt@ohchr.org