Header image for news printout

Human Rights Council to hold Special Session of the human rights situation in the Central African Republic


13 January 2014

The Human Rights Council will hold a Special Session on Monday, 20 January on the human rights situation in the Central African Republic.

The request for the Special Session was submitted in a letter today by the Permanent Representative of Ethiopia on behalf of the African Group. It was signed by 36 Member States of the Council and 43 observer States. The request was signed by the following members of the Council: Algeria, Argentina, Austria, Benin, Botswana, Brazil, Burkina Faso, Chile, Congo, Costa Rica, Côte d’Ivoire, Czech Republic, Gabon, Germany, Estonia, Ethiopia, France, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Kenya, Kuwait, Maldives, Mexico, Montenegro, Morocco, Namibia, Peru, Republic of Korea, Romania, Sierra Leone, South Africa, The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom and United States.

The request was also supported by the following observer States: Angola, Australia, Belgium, Bulgaria, Burundi, Central African Republic, Chad, Croatia, Cyprus, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Denmark, Egypt, Finland, Guinea, Hungary, Latvia, Lesotho, Libya, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Greece, Madagascar, Mali, Malta, Mauritania, Mozambique, the Netherlands, Nigeria, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Rwanda, Senegal, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Sudan, Spain, Sweden, Tanzania, Togo, Tunisia, Turkey and Zimbabwe.

In order for a Special Session to be convened, the support of one-third of the membership of the Council (16 members or more) is required.

The Special Session will start at 10 a.m. on Monday, 20 January in Salle XX of the Palais des Nations.


For use of the information media; not an official record