Header image for news printout

Press Statement on appointment of new Chair of Commission of Inquiry on the 2014 Gaza conflict

Geneva, 3 February 2015 -- Following today’s announcement on the resignation of Professor William Schabas as Chair of the Commission of Inquiry on the 2014 Gaza conflict, the President of the Human Rights Council, Ambassador Joachim Ruecker (Germany), has decided to appoint current Commission member Mary McGowan Davis to replace Professor Schabas as Commission Chair.

The Commission, now comprised of Mary McGowan Davis and Doudou Diène, both of whom were appointed in August last year, continues its important work and is scheduled to present its findings to the Human Rights Council on 23 March as mandated.


For use of the information media; not an official record