Header image for news printout

UN Committee on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights to review Kyrgyzstan, Venezuela, Mongolia, Thailand, Ireland, Chile, Uganda

GENEVA (26 May 2015) – The UN Committee on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights is meeting in Geneva from 1 to 19 June to review the following countries:

Kyrgyzstan (1-2 June); Venezuela (2-3 June); Mongolia (3-4 June); Thailand (4-5 June); Ireland (8-9 June); Chile (9-10 June); Uganda (10-11 June)

The above are among the 164 States that have ratified the International Covenant on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights (ICESCR), and so are required to submit regular reports to the Committee of 18 international independent experts on how they are implementing the Covenant.  The Committee members will engage in a dialogue with the respective government delegations on a range of issues relating to the Covenant.

The sessions take place from 10:00 - 13:00 and 15:00 - 18:00 at Palais Wilson, Geneva, and will be webcast at www.treatybodywebcast.org

More information, including the state party reports, list of issues and replies, as well as information submitted by civil society groups and national human rights institutions, can be found here:

The Committee will issue its findings on the respective States on Monday 22 June and publish them at the above link.


For media requests, please contact:
Liz Throssell – UN Human Rights Office Media Unit (+41 (0) 22 917 9466/ ethrossell@ohchr.org)

More on the Committee on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights:

UN Human Rights, follow us on social media:
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/unitednationshumanrights
Google+ gplus.to/unitednationshumanrights   
Storify: http://storify.com/UNrightswire