Header image for news printout

UN torture prevention experts announce visits to Burundi, Portugal and Uruguay

GENEVA (6 July 2017) -  Burundi, Portugal and Uruguay are among the countries that the Subcommittee on Prevention of Torture (SPT) will visit in 2018 to assess the treatment of people deprived of their liberty, as well as the measures taken for their protection against torture and ill-treatment.

Under the SPT’s mandate, members may make unannounced visits to any places where people are or may be deprived of their liberty, including prisons, police stations, centres for migrants, security services, interrogation facilities and psychiatric hospitals. In addition, the SPT provides advice to national authorities on the establishment of national detention monitoring bodies, known as National Preventive Mechanisms (NPM). It also cooperates and assists the NPMs on their functioning.

During its June session, the SPT has also decided to add Bosnia and Herzegovina  to the list of countries that have failed to establish their NPM within three years of ratification, which is a serious violation of their obligations under the OPCAT. Considering that Lebanon has recently adopted legislation to establish its NPM, the SPT decided to remove Lebanon from this list, which is now currently composed of 14 States: Argentina,  Benin, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cambodia, Chile, the Democratic Republic of the Congo, Gabon, Liberia, Nauru, Nigeria, Panama and the Philippines. The list is public on the SPT website at http://www.ohchr.org/EN/HRBodies/OPCAT/Pages/Article17.aspx

In the coming months, the SPT will also visit: Burkina Faso, Mongolia, Morocco, Panama, Rwanda, and Spain, after having already visited Niger, Hungary, the Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia and Bolivia earlier this year.


For more information, please contact:
Joao Nataf, SPT Secretary, Human Rights Treaty Division: + 41 (0) 22 917 9102/ jnataf@ohchr.org

For media inquiries, please contact:
Nicoleta Panta, +41 (0) 22 /917 9310/npanta@ohchr.org


The SPT’s role is to prevent and eliminate torture and cruel, inhuman or degrading treatment and punishment of detainees, and it has a mandate to visit all States that are parties to the Optional Protocol to the Convention against Torture (OPCAT).

The OPCAT is a unique international human rights treaty which assists States to prevent torture and other forms of ill-treatment.

The Optional Protocol on the Prevention of Torture has to date been ratified by 83 countries. The SPT communicates its recommendations and observations to the State by means of a confidential report, and if necessary to National Preventive Mechanisms. However, State parties are encouraged to request that the SPT makes these reports public. More about the SPT: http://www.ohchr.org/EN/HRBodies/OPCAT/Pages/OPCATIndex.aspx

Tag and share: Twitter: @UNHumanRights and Facebook: unitednationshumanrights

Concerned about the world we live in? Then STAND UP for someone’s rights today.  #Standup4humanrights and visit the web page at http://www.standup4humanrights.org