Human Rights Records of 15 Countries under Review

Fifteen countries from Asia, Africa, Latin America, the Caribbean and Europe will have their human rights records examined in Geneva from 3 to 14 May during the eighth session of the Human Rights Council Universal Periodic Review (UPR) Working Group.

The Human Rights Council reviews the human rights records of 15 countries. - © UN Photo/Pierre Virot

They include, in order of review, Kyrgyzstan, Kiribati, Guinea, Lao People’s Democratic Republic, Spain, Lesotho, Kenya, Armenia, Guinea-Bissau, Sweden, Grenada, Turkey, Guyana, Kuwait and Belarus.

Due to the devastating earthquake in Haiti in January, the Human Rights Council, in a special session held on 27 January, has endorsed the request of the Haitian government to postpone its review originally scheduled for the current session. The review of Haiti will take place before the end of next year, when the first four-year cycle for the UPR ends.

By the end of this two-week session, 127 out of the 192 member States of the United Nations will have had their human rights records examined by the UPR Working Group. When the UPR completes its first four-year cycle in December 2011, all UN member States will have been reviewed under this mechanism.
The UPR, established by the General Assembly, aims to improve human rights in all UN member States. It assesses whether goverments fulfil their human rights obligations and commitments and addresses human rights violations wherever they occur. Composed of all 47 members of the Council, the UPR Working Group meets three times a year. It issues reports summarizing the discussions and recommendations made during each session.

The eighth session takes place in the Human Rights and Alliance of Civilizations Room at the Palais des Nations in Geneva. More information is available on the UPR webpage; the session is also webcast live.

30 April 2010