Universal Declaration of Human Rights

PDF version for the language Thakali *
*Disclaimer: OHCHR is not responsible for the
contents of external links.


Source: Thakali Sewa Samittee


Native Name

Total Speakers
As many as 5,242 Thakali speak their mother tongue according to National Census 2011.

Usage By Country

Thakali is one of the 59 indigenous Nationalities in Nepal densely dwelling in Thasang, or Thak Sat Sae or Thak Khola of the southern part of Mustang district, which extends from the village of Ghasa in the south to Jomsom (the district headquarter) in the north. Thakalis ancestral territory is Thaksatse in Thak Khola, which consists of 13 villages known as Tehra Gaun: Tukuche, Khanti, Kobang, Larjung, Bhujungkot, Nakhung, Naprungkhung, Titi, Dhumpu, Taglung, Kunjo, Lete and Ghasa. Thakalis are divided into four clans—Khuki (Bhattachan), Choki (Gauchan), Dinjen (Sherchan) and Salki (Tulachan). According to 2011 Census, the population of Thakali is 13,215.

Received 4/2/2014
Posted 4/4/2014
Checked 4/2/2014