Skip to main content


The Committee on Migrant Workers is currently composed of 14 independent experts (persons of high moral character, impartiality and recognized competence in the field covered by the International Convention on the Protection of the Rights of All Migrant Workers and Members of their Families).

Members are elected at bi-annual meetings of States parties from among the their nationals for a term of four years by States parties in accordance with article 72 of the Convention. Members serve in their personal capacity and may be re-elected if nominated.

The CVs of the current members are available by clicking on the names of the members in the table below.

Current members
Name State Term expires 31 December
Mr. Khaled Cheikhna BABACAR Mauritania 31.12.2027
English | Français | Español
Argentina 31.12.2025
Mr. Mohammed CHAREF Morocco 31.12.2027
Mr. Edgar CORZO SOSA (Chair) Mexico 31.12.2027
Ms. Fatimata DIALLO (Vice-Chair) Senegal 31.12.2025
Ms. Jasminka DZUMHUR(Vice-Chair) Bosnia and Herzegovina 31.12.2025
Mr. Ermal FRASHERI Albania 31.12.2025
Ms. Sabrina GAHAR Algeria 31.12.2027
Mr. Prasad KARIYAWASAM Sri Lanka 31.12.2027
Mr. Mamane OUMARIA Niger 31.12.2025
Ms. Myriam POUSSI Burkina Faso 31.12.2027
Mr. Azad TAGHI-ZADA (Vice-Chair) Azerbaijan 31.12.2025
Mr. Can ÜNVER Turkey 31.12.2027
Mr. Raymond G. ZOUNMATOUN Benin 31.12.2025
Written solemn declarations

In accordance with Rule 11 of the Rules of procedure of the Committee, each member of the Committee, before assuming their duties after their first election, shall make a solemn declaration in open Committee. As per standard practice of the Committee, newly elected members are normally requested to make the solemn declaration at the opening of the first session in Geneva following their elections.

Since the thirty-second session of the CMW Committee was postponed due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the UN Secretary-General decided that the newly elected members make the solemn declaration in writing by signing a form in order to have a functioning Committee in such an exceptional context.

الصفحة متوفرة باللغة: