Useful Information

OHCHR Human Rights Programme for Africa

Latest activities

Establishment of the Human Rights Resource Centre at the Oliver Tambo Law Library, University of Pretoria, South Africa

18 August 2011: Publication: 'la justice transitionnelle: une voie vers la reconciliation et la construction d'une paix durable', Conference paper 1/2011, Dealing with the past.

Bi-monthly publication on human rights and democracy in the sub region:
September 2011
July 2011

10 years at the service of Central Africa

Country Mandates Established
by the CHR/HRC

Standing invitations to Special Procedures

Regional Members of the Human Rights Council:

Angola 2020

Burkina Faso 2021

Cameroon 2021

Democratic Republic of the Congo 2020

Eritrea 2021

Nigeria 2020

Rwanda 2019

Senegal 2020

Somalia 2021

South Africa 2019

Togo 2021

Voluntary Pledges and Commitments


UN Human Rights Report 2019 UN Human Rights Report 2019
OHCHR Management Plan 2018-2021 OHCHR Management Plan 2018-2021
Brochure: Human Rights in action Human Rights in Action (PDF)
Working with the United Nations Human Rights Programme: A Handbook for Civil Society A Handbook for Civil Society (PDF)

OHCHR – Central Africa Regional Centre (2006-2007)


The Sub-regional Centre for Human Rights and Democracy in Central Africa was established in December 1999 at the request of the Economic Community of Central African States (ECCAS) by a UN General Assembly resolution. The Centre, located in Yaoundé (Cameroon), started its activities in March 2001 and was officially opened by the High Commissioner in June 2002. In July 2002, OHCHR signed a Memorandum of Understanding with the Secretariat General of the Economic Community of Central African States (ECCAS) to coordinate action to promote and protect human rights and democracy throughout the region.

The Centre focuses on capacity-building and the promotion of human rights and democracy. It aims at strengthening the capacity of governments, parliamentarians, armed forces, police, students and civil society organizations of the eleven countries of the region, namely Angola, Burundi, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, Republic of the Congo, Rwanda, and Sao Tome and Principe . It provides support to technical assistance projects in Cameroon, Chad, Equatorial Guinea and Republic of the Congo.

2006-2007 Programme

In 2006-2007, the Centre will focus on fostering a development programming based on human rights and human security; strengthening the rule of law; increasing awareness of all forms of discrimination, and building national institutions.

Within this framework, the Centre will organize sub-regional workshops on a human rights-based approach to development and will provide assistance to integrate the rights-based approach into the national programmes, in cooperation with relevant UN country teams and in the context of the work of the relevant regional economic communities, the Economic and Monetary Community of Central Africa (CEMAC) and the E conomic Community of Central African States (ECCAS).

The Centre will provide support to the process of the International Conference on the Great Lakes Region. It will support government initiatives to adopt or review anti-discrimination laws and to integrate human rights education in schools and university curricula. It will continue to build sub-regional capacity in the fields of human rights and democracy through the implementation of its training and internship programme for civil society organizations.

In addition, the Yaoundé Centre will host the Regional Adviser on Action 2 who will provide advisory services to UNCTs and collaborate with the secretariat of the Regional Human Development Report for the Great Lakes region, based in Kigali .

Finally, the Centre plans to host a regional consultation to develop a UN Plan of Action in support of the implementation of the peace pact on security, stability, and development in the Great Lakes region, to be adopted in Nairobi in December 2006.

Expected Accomplishments

Integration of the concepts of human rights and human security into the common instrument of the UN system, the Common Country Assessment (CCA), and the UN Development Assistance Framework (UNDAF).

Integration of the concepts of human rights and human security into national and regional development programmes and policies.

Enhanced national protection systems.

Improved reporting records under international human rights treaties.

Enhanced legal protection against discrimination. 

Contact Information


Field Operations and Technical Cooperation Division (FOTCD)
Contact in Geneva, Switzerland.

Africa Branch
Tel. +41 22 917 9220

Regional Offices/Centres

Central Africa
(Yaounde, Cameroon)
Nouvelle route Bastos
Rue 1705, Numéro 606
B.P. 836
Yaoundé, Cameroon
Tel.: +237 2221 2474 +23 74 83 03 56 ;
74 83 01 78
+8821 637 220 464 (satellite)
Fax: (237) 221 2475

East Africa
(Addis Ababa, Ethiopia)
New ECA Building
Room 1N16
P.O.Box 3001
Addis Ababa
Tel.: (251 11) 544 3105
Fax: (251 11) 551 6078

Southern Africa
Regional Office for Southern Africa
UN House, Metropark Building
351 Francis Baard Street
P.O. Box 6541
Pretoria 0001
South Africa
Tel.: +27 12 354 8686
Fax: +27 12 354 8681

West Africa
Parcelle n°20, en face de l'hôtel Azur, Route du King Fahd Palace, BP 154, Dakar, Senegal , Tel. : +221 33 869 39 69

Other OHCHR Offices

Cote d'Ivoire
Democratic Republic of Congo
Sierra Leone

Feature stories

External links

International Criminal Court

Geneva Conventions

ILO Conventions

Refugee Conventions

African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights

African Court of Justice

African Union

Economic Community of Central African States

Economic and Monetary Community of Central Africa

National Institutions

Note: OHCHR is not responsible for the content of external links.