Skip to main content

Asia Pacific Region

Navigation Blocks
Select Select
Navigation Blocks

OHCHR presence in the region

OHCHR Pacific Regional Office

The Regional Office for the Pacific (ROP) covers 16 countries of the Pacific region: Australia, New Zealand and the Pacific Islands Countries (PICs): Cook Islands, Federated States of Micronesia, Fiji, Kiribati, Nauru, Niue, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Republic of the Marshall Islands, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tonga, Tuvalu and Vanuatu. Most of the population of PICs is indigenous and traditional structures and religious beliefs influence the daily way of life. Read more about OHCHR in Pacific Regional Office.

OHCHR South East Asia Regional Office

The Regional Office covers Brunei Darussalam, Indonesia, Lao People’s Democratic Republic, Malaysia, Myanmar, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, Timor-Leste and Viet Nam. It also supports OHCHR’s work elsewhere in other parts of Asia. Cambodia is not covered by the Regional Office, as it has a stand-alone OHCHR country office. Read more about the OHCHR Regional Office for South-East Asia.The OHCHR Regional Office for South-East Asia was established in Bangkok in 2002 in order to strengthen OHCHR’s presence and partnerships in the region. The UN Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific (UNESCAP) hosts the Regional Office under a Memorandum of Intent signed with the High Commissioner for Human Rights in February 2001.

Country Offices

Human Rights Components in UN Peace Missions

Regional Offices

Human Rights Advisers

Other type of field presence