Skip to main content

At the International Conference held in Tunis in 1993, NHRIs established the International Coordinating Committee of NHRIs (ICC) with the aim to coordinate the activities of the NHRI network. In 2016, the ICC changed its name into Global Alliance of National Human Rights Institutions (GANHRI).

GANHRI is incorporated as a legal entity under the Swiss law, and has a Bureau consisting of 16 “A status” NHRIs representing the four regions of GANHRI. General annual meetings of GANHRI, meetings of the GANHRI Bureau and of the Sub-Committee on Accreditation, as well as international conferences of GANHRI are held in cooperation with UN Human Rights in its capacity as the GANHRI secretariat.

Accreditation of NHRIs

The Sub-Committee on Accreditation (SCA) of the  Global Alliance of National Human Rights Institutions (GANHRI) has the mandate to review and analyze accreditation applications and to make recommendations to the GANHRI Bureau on the compliance of applicants with the Paris Principles.

The SCA is composed of one “A status” accredited NHRI from each of the four regional groupings: Africa, the Americas, Asia Pacific and Europe. Members of the SCA are appointed by the regional groupings for a renewable term of three years. National Institutions and Regional Mechanisms Section in the UN Human Rights Office participates in the work of the SCA as a permanent observer and in its capacity as the GANHRI  secretariat.

As of 2021, there are 84 NHRIs accredited with A Status by the GANHRI, i.e. in compliance with the Paris Principles, and 33 accredited with B status.  See list of member countries.

Guidance notes for NHRIs 

NHRIs have clearly defined roles and opportunities to participate in the international human rights system and to follow-up to results and recommendations at the national level. The following links contain short guidance notes for NHRIs for:

  1. the Human Rights Council,
  2. the 2nd cycle of the Universal Periodic Review /UPR