Skip to main content

23rd Meeting of States parties & 2004 elections


09 September 2004


United Nations Headquarters, New York

General information

The twenty-third meeting of States parties to the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights will take place on 9 September 2004 at United Nations Headquarters, New York.


The following nominations have been received for membership of the Human Rights Committee:

Name Nationality Term expires
Mr. Franco DEPASQUALE Malta -
Mr. Osman EL HAJJE Lebanon -
Mr. Maurice GLÈLÈ-AHANHANZO Benin Elected
Mr. Edwin Ramón JOHNSON LOPEZ Ecuador Elected
Mr. Ahmed Tawfik KHALIL Egypt Elected
Mr. Rajsoomer LALLAH Mauritius Elected
Mr. Michael O’FLAHERTY Ireland Elected
Mr. Rafael RIVAS POSADA Colombia Elected
Sir Nigel RODLEY United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland Elected
Mr. Ivan SHEARER Australia Elected
Ms. Amina Moussou TRAORE Burkina Faso Withdrawal
Ms. Margareta WADSTEIN Sweden Elected.
Ms. Wadstein passed away on 17 September 2004. Her position will be filled in a by-election in the near future.

The following documents were issued for the twenty-third meeting of States parties.

Title Symbol number / link
Provisional Agenda CCPR/SP/66
Document containing CVs of candidates CCPR/SP/67
Document containing CVs of candidates CCPR/SP/67/Add.1
Document containing CVs of candidates CCPR/SP/67/Add.2
Note by the Secretary-General CCPR/SP/67/Add.3
Revised Rules of Procedures of the Meeting of the States Parties to the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights CCPR/SP/2/Rev.1