Skip to main content

21st Meeting of States parties & 2006 elections


12 January 2006


New York

Committee on the Elimination of Racial Discrimination

The twenty-first meeting of States parties was held in New York on 12 January 2006 to elect members to replace the nine current members whose terms expire on 19 January 2006.


The following Members of the Committee on the Elimination of Racial Discrimination were elected or re-elected:

Name State Notes
Mr. Mahmoud Aboul-Nasr Egypt Re-elected
Mr. Noureddine Amir Algeria Re-elected
Mr. Régis de Gouttes France Re-elected
Mr. Morten Kjaerum Denmark Re-elected
Mr. José Augusto Lindgren Alves Brazil Re-elected
Mr. Agha Shahi Pakistan Re-elected
Mr. Linos-Alexander Sicilianos Greece Re-elected
Mr. Patrick Thornberry United Kingdom Re-elected
Mr. Kokou Mawuena Ika Kana (Dieudonnè) Ewomsan Togo Elected