Skip to main content

2nd Meeting of States parties & 2008 elections


30 October 2008



Subcommitee on prevention of torture

The second meeting of States parties to the Optional Protocol took place in Geneva on 30 October 2008. States parties elected five members of the Subcommittee to fill the vacancies that expired on 31 December 2008.

Title Symbol
Provisional agenda CAT/OP/SP/4
Document containing CVs of candidates CAT/OP/SP/5
Draft Rules of Procedures of the Meeting of States parties to the Optional Protocol to the Convention against Torture CAT/OP/SP/3
Resolution adopted by the General Assembly - Equitable geographical distribution in the membership of the human rights treaty bodies A/RES/59/181
List of candidates
Name State
Mr. Zbigniew LASOCIK Poland
Mr. Mario Luis CORIOLANO Argentina
Mr. Zdeněk HÁJEK Czech Republic
Ms. Silvia CASALE United Kingdom
Mr. Rodriguez RESCIA Costa Rica
Mr. Emanuel CASSAR Malta
Mr. Mandioguou NDIAYE Senegal
Members of the Subcommittee on Prevention of Torture, 2008
Name of Candidate Nationality Term of office
Ms. Silvia CASALE United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland 2008
Mr. Mario Luis CORIOLANO Argentina 2008
Ms. Marija DEFINIS GOJANOVIC Croatia 2010
Mr. Zdenek HAJEK Czech Republic 2008
Mr. Zbigniew LASOCIK Poland 2008
Mr. Hans Draminsky PETERSEN Denmark 2010
Mr. Victor Manuel RODRIGUEZ RESCIA Costa Rica 2008
Mr. Miguel SARRE IGUINIZ Mexico 2010
Mr. Wilder TAYLER SOUTO Uruguay 2010
Mr. Leopoldo TORRES BOURSAULT Spain 2010