Skip to main content

Countdown to Human Rights Day

Get inspired by 15-year-old Louiza, who fought for the right to attend school

Learn more

Fourth meeting of States parties and 2009 elections


03 December 2009


United Nations Headquarters

The fourth meeting of States parties to the International Convention on the Protection of All Migrant Workers and Members of their Families (ICRMW) was held on 3 December 2009 at the United Nations Headquarters.

The purpose of the meeting was to elect five members of the Committee on the Protection of All Migrant Workers and Members of their Families (CMW) to replace those whose terms of office expire on 31 December 2009, as well as four new members following the entry into force of the Convention for the 41st State party on 1 July 2009.


The members elected to the Committee were:

Name State
José S. BRILLANTES Philippines
Francisco CARRION MENA Ecuador
Miguel Ángel IBARRA GONZALEZ Guatemala
Prasad KARIYAWASAM Sri Lanka
Mehmet SEVIM Turkey
Azad TAGHIZADE Azerbaijan
Ahmadou TALL Senegal
Fatoumata Abdourhamana DICKO Mali

Note of the Secretary General including candidates and biographical data CMW/SP/9 and CMW/SP/9/Add.1

The previous membership of the Committee on Migrant Workers was:
Name State Term expires
31 December
Francisco ALBA Mexico 2011
José S. BRILLANTES Philippines 2009
Ana Elizabeth CUBIAS MEDINA El Salvador 2011
Anamaría DIEGUEZ ARÉVALO Guatemala 2009
Ahmed Hassan EL-BORAI Egypt 2011
Abdelhamid EL JAMRI Morocco 2011
Prasad KARIYAWASAM Sri Lanka 2009
Myriam POUSSI KONSIMBO Burkina Faso 2011
Mehmet SEVIM Turkey 2009
Azad TAGHIZADET Azerbaijan 2009