Skip to main content

29th Meeting of States parties & 2010 elections


29 February 2012

The Human Rights Committee is composed of 18 independent experts. Members are elected for a term of four years by States parties.

A meeting of States parties took place in New York on 2 September 2010 to elect members to replace nine members whose term expires on 31 December 2010.

The individuals elected to fill the nine positions and whose term on the Committee starts on 1 January 2011 and expires on 31 December 2014 are:

Name of Candidate Nationality
Mr. Abdelfattah AMOR Tunisia
Ms. Christine CHANET
English | Français
English | Français | Español
The Netherlands
Ms. Helen KELLER Switzerland
Ms. Iulia Antoanella Motoc
English | Français
Mr Yuji IWASAWA Japan
Ms. Zonke Zanele MAJODINA South Africa
Mr. Gerald L. NEUMAN
العربية | 中文 | English | Français | русский | Español
United States of America
Ms. Margo WATERVAL Suriname

The following documents were issued for the twenty-ninth meeting of States parties.

Title Symbol number / link
Provisional Agenda CCPR/SP/74
List of candidates CCPR/SP/75
List of candidates - Addendum CCPR/SP/75/Add.1
List of candidates - Addendum CCPR/SP/75/Add.2
Rules of procedure of the meeting of the States parties CCPR/SP/2/Rev.1