Skip to main content

30th Meeting of States parties & election


17 January 2012


New York (NLB Conference Room 1)

General information

A meeting of States parties will take place in New York (NLB Conference Room 1) on 17 January 2012 at 10 a.m. The purpose of this extraordinary meeting is to conduct two by-elections to fill casual vacancies arising from the resgination of two members of the Human Rights Committee last year.

It is envisaged that the voting will proceed in two stages: the first vote will determine the candidate who will take over the mandate which expires on 31 December 2014; the second vote will determine which of the remaining candidates will take over the mandate which expires on 31 December 2012.


Pursuant to article 30, paragraph 4 of the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights, the necessary quorum for the meeting is two-thirds of the 167 States Parties to the Covenant, that is to say 112 States Parties. To avoid the meeting being substantially delayed or postponed, representatives of States Parties should be present at the scheduled time of the meeting.


In accordance with Rule 2 of the Revised Rules of Procedures of the Meeting of the States Parties to the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights, the credentials of representatives and the names of members of a delegation issued by the Head of State or Government or by the Minister for Foreign Affairs should be submitted to the Secretary-General prior to the Meeting. The credentials may be brought to the Meeting or sent in advance to the Office of the High Commissioner for Human Rights in New York ( for the attention of Mr. James Turpin, DC1 - 0504).

Additional meetings in 2012

States parties are informed that two further meetings of states parties will take place in 2012: a further by-election will be held at an extraordinary meeting to be organized on a date to be determined in April or May in order to fill the casual vacancy arising from the death of a member of the Human Rights Committee last month; the regular scheduled elections to replace those members of the Committee whose terms expire in December 2012 will be held at a meeting already scheduled to take place in September 2012.

30th Meeting of States parties

States parties to the Convention were invited to nominate their candidates by 5 December 2011.

List of candidates as submitted by the States parties:

Name of Candidate Nationality Submission date
Mr. Khlid Salman Mohammed Ali Al-NUAIMI Iraq 25 August 2011
Ms. Djakupova GULSARA Kyrgyzstan 6 December 2011
Mr. Walter KALIN (ELECTED) Switzerland 17 October 2011
Mr. Marat SARSEMBAYEV (ELECTED) Kazakhstan 28 November 2011
Ms. Gulnar SATBAYEVA (candidate withdrawn on 10 January) Kazakhstan 28 November 2011

The membership of the Human Rights Committee is currently as follows (it includes the original members behind the vacant seats):

Name of Candidate Nationality Term expires
Mr. Abdelfattah AMOR (deceased on 2 January 2012) Tunisia 31.12.2014
Mr. Lazhari BOUZID (Rapporteur) Algeria 31.12.2012
Ms. Christine CHANET France 31.12.2014
Mr. El HAIBA (resigned effective 30 September 2011) Morocco 31.12.2012
Mr. Ahmad Amin FATHALLA Egypt 31.12.2012
Mr.Cornelis FLINTERMAN The Netherlands 31.12.2014
Mr. Yuji IWASAWA (Vice-Chairperson) Japan 31.12.2014
Ms. Helen KELLER (resigned effective 30 September 2011) Switzerland 31.12.2014
Mr. Rajsoomer LALLAH Mauritius 31.12.2012
Ms. Zonke Zanele MAJODINA (Chairperson) South Africa 31.12.2014
Ms. Iulia Antoanella MOTOC Romania 31.12.2014
Mr. Gerald L. NEUMAN United States of America 31.12.2014
Mr. Michael O'FLAHERTY (Vice-Chairperson) Ireland 31.12.2012
Mr. Rafael RIVAS POSADA Colombia 31.12.2012
Sir Nigel RODLEY United Kingdom 31.12.2012
Mr. Fabián Omar SALVIOLI (Vice-Chairperson) Argentina 31.12.2012
Mr. Krister THELIN Sweden 31.12.2012
Ms. Margo WATERVAL Suriname 31.12.2014

The following documents were issued for the thirty meeting of States parties.

Title Symbol number / link
Provisional Agenda CCPR/SP/76/Rev.1
Election of two Members and CV's of candidates CCPR/SP/77
Withdrawal of Candidature CCPR/SP/77/Add.1