Skip to main content

34th Meeting of States parties & 2014 elections


24 June 2014


New York (Conference Building Room 1)

General information

The Human Rights Committee is composed of 18 independent experts, who are persons of high moral character and recognised competence in the field of human rights, consideration being given to the usefulness of the participation of some persons having legal experience (article 28, ICCPR).

Members are elected for a term of four years by States parties from among their nationals, consideration being given to equitable geographical distribution and to representation of the different forms of civilization as well as of the principal legal systems, in accordance with article 31 of the Covenant. Members serve in their personal capacity and may be re-elected if re-nominated.

States parties are informed that there will be two elections during the thirty-fourth meeting of States parties, scheduled to take place in New York (Conference Building Room 1) on 24 June 2014 at 10 am.

1. Regular Election: to elect nine members of the Human Rights Committee, to replace those whose terms are due to expire on 31 December 2014.
2. By-Election: to conduct one by-election to fill a casual vacancy arising from the resignation of a member of the Human Rights Committee on 9 January 2014.


Pursuant to article 30, paragraph 4 of the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights, the necessary quorum for the meeting is two-thirds of the 167 States Parties to the Covenant, that is to say 112 States Parties. To avoid the meeting being substantially delayed or postponed, representatives of States Parties should be present at the scheduled time of the meeting.


In accordance with Rule 2 of the Revised Rules of Procedures of the Meeting of the States Parties to the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights, the credentials of representatives and the names of members of a delegation issued by the Head of State or Government or by the Minister for Foreign Affairs should be submitted to the Secretary-General prior to the Meeting. The credentials may be brought to the Meeting or sent in advance to the Office of the High Commissioner for Human Rights in New York (for the attention of Nenad Vasic , S-1309).

Nomination of candidates by States parties

States parties to the Covenant are invited to nominate their candidates by Friday, 21 March 2014. Nominations should be sent to the Secretariat at the following email addresses:[email protected], [email protected] and [email protected].

The membership of the Human Rights Committee is currently as follows:

Name of Member Nationality Term expires on 31 December
Mr. Yadh BEN ACHOUR (Vice-Chairperson) Tunisia 31.12.2014
Mr. Lazhari BOUZID Algeria 31.12.2016
Ms. Christine CHANET France 31.12.2014
Mr. Ahmad Amin FATHALLA Egypt 31.12.2016
Mr.Cornelis FLINTERMAN (Rapporteur) The Netherlands 31.12.2014
Mr. Yuji IWASAWA Japan 31.12.2014
Mr. Walter KALIN Switzerland 31.12.2014
Ms. Zonke Zanele MAJODINA South Africa 31.12.2014
Mr. Kheshoe Parsad MATADEEN(resigned effective 9 January 2014) Mauritius 31.12.2016
Mr. Andrei Paul ZLÃTESCU Romania 31.12.2014
Mr.Gerald L. NEUMAN United States of America 31.12.2014
Sir Nigel RODLEY (Chairperson) United Kingdom 31.12.2016
Mr. Victor Manuel RODRÍGUEZ-RESCIA Costa Rica 31.12.2016
Mr. Fabián Omar SALVIOLI - [English | Français | Español] Argentina 31.12.2016
Ms. Anja SEIBERT-FOHR Germany 31.12.2016
Mr. Yuval SHANY Israel 31.12.2016
Mr. Konstantine VARDZELASHVILI Georgia 31.12.2016
Ms. Margo WATERVAL (Vice-Chairperson) Suriname 31.12.2014

Members' CVs can also be found in the documents CCPR/SP/71, CCPR/SP/71/Add.3, CCPR/SP/81 and CCPR/SP/81/Add.2 List of candidates as submitted by the States parties within the deadline of 21 March 2014:
(official translations can be found below - CCPR/SP/85)

Name of Candidate Nationality Submission Date
(Regular Election) - ELECTED
Suriname 4 February 2014
Ms. Ivana JELIC | English | Français
(Regular Election) - ELECTED
Montenegro 5 February 2014
(Regular Election) - ELECTED
Tunisia 19 February 2014
(Regular Election) - ELECTED
Japan 25 February 2014
(By-election) - ELECTED
Mauritius 11 March 2014
Mr. Cornelis FLINTERMAN | English | Français | Español
(Regular Election)
Netherlands 17 March 2014
Mr. Olivier de FROUVILLE English | Français | Español
(Regular Election) - ELECTED
France 20 March 2014
Ms. Sarah H CLEVELAND | العربية | English | Français | русский | Español
(Regular Election) - ELECTED
United States of America 21 March 2014
Ms. Photini PAZARTZIS English | Français
(Regular Election) - ELECTED
Greece 21 March 2014
Mr. Duncan Muhumuza LAKI
(Regular Election) - ELECTED
Uganda 21 March 2014

List of candidates as submitted by the States parties after the deadline:
(official translations can be found below as an addendum to CCPR/SP/85)

Name of Candidate Nationality Submission Date
Mrs.Zohra RASEKH
(Regular Election)
Islamic Republic of Afghanistan 31 March 2014
Mr.Nkhata MWIZA
(Regular Election)
Malawi 24 April 2014
Mr. Mauro POLITI
(Regular Election) - ELECTED
Italy 8 May 2014
Mr. Roberto GARRETÓN M. English | Français | Español
(Regular Election)
Chile 16 May 2014

Documents issued at the thirty-fourth

Title Symbol number / link
Provisional Agenda CCPR/SP/84
List of candidates CCPR/SP/85
List of candidates - Addendum CCPR/SP/85/Add.1
List of candidates - Corrigendum CCPR/SP/85/Add.1/Corr.1
List of candidates - Addendum CCPR/SP/85/Add.2
Rules of procedure of the meeting of the States parties CCPR/SP/2/Rev.1