Skip to main content

Seventh Conference of States parties and 2014 elections


10 - 12 June 2014


New York

Committee on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities

The seventh session of the Conference of the States parties to the Convention was held in New York from 10 to 12 June 2014. The election of nine members of the Committee took place on 10 June 2014.

Gender balance and geographical representation

Article 34, paragraph 4 of the Convention states that “the members of the Committee shall be elected by States parties, consideration being given to equitable geographical distribution, representation of the different forms of civilization and of the principal legal systems, balanced gender representation and participation of experts with disabilities”.

Article 34, paragraph 3 states that “When nominating their candidates, States parties are invited to give due consideration to the provision set out in article 4, paragraph 3, of the present Convention”, according to which “States parties shall closely consult with and actively involve persons with disabilities, including children with disabilities through their representative organizations”.

In its composition at the time of the election, there were seven women experts and 11 men in the Committee. Their geographical distribution was as follows: four experts from Latin America and the Caribbean, three from Africa, two from Eastern Europe, four from Asia -Pacific, and five from Western Europe and other States.

Of the nine experts whose mandates shall expire on 31 December 2014, two experts were women and seven were men; two were from Latin America and Caribbean, two from the African group, one from Eastern Europe, one from Asia-Pacific, and three from the Western Europe and other States Group.


The individuals elected to fill the positions on the Committee were:

Name State
Ms. Theresia DEGENER (re-elected) Germany
Mr. Danlami Umaru BASHARU Nigeria
Mr. Hyung Shik KIM (re-elected) Republic of Korea
Mr. Stig LANGVAD (re-elected) Denmark
Mr. Carlos Alberto PARRA DUSSAN Colombia
Mr. Coomaravel PYANEANDEE Mauritius
Mr. Jonas RUSKUS Lithuania
Mr. Damjan TATIC (re-elected) Serbia
Mr. Liang YOU People’s Republic of China

List of candidates for the 2014 elections

Name State
Mr. Mohammed Abdulkarem ALMANNAI Bahrain
Ms. Mariam Saif Rashid AL QUBIAIS United Arab Emirates
Mr. Ahmad AL SAIF Saudi Arabia
Ms. Amna Ali AL-SUWAIDI Qatar
Mr.Danlami Umaru BASHARU Nigeria
Ms. Theresia DEGENER
English | Français | Español
Mr. Hyung Shik KIM Republic of Korea
Mr. Henri KONE
English | Français
Burkina Faso
العربية | 中文 | English | Français | Español
Mr. Kibaya Imaana LAIBUTA Kenya
Mr. Carlos Alberto PARRA DUSSAN
English | Español
Mr. Coomaravel PYANEANDEE Mauritius
Mr. Alexander Kellman RODRIGUEZ El Salvador
Mr. Jonas RUSKUS
English | Français
Mr. Sinan TAFAJ Albania
Mr. Damjan TATIC Serbia
Mr. Liang YOU People's Republic of China
Mr. Kassahun YIBELTAL SAHILU Ethiopia

* Received after official deadline

Name State
Mr.Ahmed Elsharief Mohamed ABDELRAHMAN Sudan
Mr. Mohamedy EBE Mauritania
Mr. Enoch MULEMBE Zambia
Mr. Farka SOUMAILA Niger