Skip to main content

Meeting of State Parties & Replacement of one member - 2020 - Committee against Torture


22 October 2020


Geneva, Conference room XVIII, Palais des Nations

Provisions of article 17, para. 6 of the Convention against Torture and Other Cruel, Inhuman or Degrading Treatment or Punishment, read as follows:

“If a member of the Committee (against Torture) dies or resigns or for any other cause can no longer perform his Committee duties, the State Party which nominated him shall appoint another expert from among its nationals to serve for the remainder of his term, subject to the approval of the majority of the States Parties. The approval shall be considered given unless half or more of the States Parties respond negatively within six weeks after having been informed by the Secretary-General of the United Nations of the proposed appointment”.

Resignation of Ms. Honghong Zhang a national from China. The proposed replacement by Government of China: Mr. Liu Huawen. The deadline for the approval of the proposed candidate was 10 February 2020.


Appointment of Mr. Liu Huawen as a new member of the Committee against Torture until 31 December 2021.

  • Note Verbale circulated to States parties (includes biographical data available in English and Chinese only) English | Français | Español
  • Note Verbale circulated on 11 February 2020 to All States parties to the Convention
    English | Français | Español