Skip to main content

Meeting of States Parties & Replacement of one member of the Committee against Torture– 2021


30 April 2021

Provisions of article 17, para. 6 of the Convention against Torture and Other Cruel, Inhuman or Degrading Treatment or Punishment, read as follows:

“If a member of the Committee (against Torture) dies or resigns or for any other cause can no longer perform his Committee duties, the State Party which nominated him shall appoint another expert from among its nationals to serve for the remainder of his term, subject to the approval of the majority of the States Parties. The approval shall be considered given unless half or more of the States Parties respond negatively within six weeks after having been informed by the Secretary-General of the United Nations of the proposed appointment”.

Resignation of Mr. Jens Modvig a national from Denmark. Proposed replacement by Government of Denmark: Mr. Peter Vedel Kessing. Expiration date of the mandate 31 December 2021.

The deadline for the approval of the proposed candidate was 30 April 2021.

  • Note Verbale circulated to States parties on 19/03/2021 (includes biographical data available in English only) English | Français | Español