Skip to main content



The 53 States members of the Commission on Human Rights were elected by the United Nations Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC). This election, which usually took place in May each year, elected approximately a third of the members of the Commission. The members served for three-year periods and were eligible to be re-elected. The Commission had no permanent members.

The 53 seats of the Commission were distributed as follows:

African States 15, Asian States 12, Eastern European States 5, Latin American & Caribbean States 11, Western Europe & Other States 10.

Composition of the Expanded Bureau of the 62nd session of the Commission on Human Rights

Previous Chairpersons

Bureaux (1964 - 2006)