Skip to main content

Media advisories Treaty bodies

UN Committee against Torture to review Burundi, Costa Rica, Kiribati, Denmark, Egypt and Slovenia

27 October 2023

GENEVA (27 October 2023) – The UN Committee against Torture will hold its latest session from 30 October to 24 November 2023, during which it will examine Burundi, Costa Rica, Kiribati, Denmark, Egypt and Slovenia.

The above six countries are among the 173 States parties to the Convention against Torture and Other Cruel, Inhuman or Degrading Treatment or Punishment. They are required to undergo regular reviews by the Committee of 10 independent international experts on how they are implementing the Convention.

The Committee, which has received the respective country reports and submissions from non-governmental organisations and other stakeholders, will assess the six States parties on the following dates at Geneva time:

31 October 10:00 – 13:00
1 November 15:00 – 18:00

Costa Rica
1 November 10:00 – 13:00
2 November 15:00 – 18:00

6 November 10:00 – 12:00
7 November 10:00 – 12:00

8 November 10:00 – 13:00
9 November 15:00 – 18:00

14 November 10:00 – 13:00
15 November 15:00 – 18:00

15 November 10:00 – 13:00
16 November 15:00 – 18:00

The above reviews will be held in the First Floor Conference Room at Palais Wilson in Geneva. All public meetings are open to accredited journalists and broadcast live on UN Web TV. More information about the session, including reports submitted by the States and the full schedule of meetings, is available on the session page.

*Review on Kiribati will be held in a hybrid format with delegation joining online from the country.

For media accreditation:
Please apply online or contact [email protected]

Accredited media attending public meetings at Palais Wilson, please register with:
Vivian Kwok at [email protected] or
UN Human Rights Office Media Section at [email protected]

The Committee against Torture monitors States parties’ adherence to the Convention against Torture and Other Cruel, Inhuman or Degrading Treatment or Punishment, which to date has 173 State parties. The Committee is made up of 10 members who are independent human rights experts drawn from around the world, who serve in their personal capacity and not as representatives of States parties. The Committee’s concluding observations are an independent assessment of States’ compliance with their human rights obligations under the treaty.

Learn more with our videos on the Treaty Body system and the Committee Against Torture!
Follow the UN Treaty Bodies on social media!
We are on Twitter @UNTreatyBodies