Skip to main content

Press releases Treaty bodies

UN torture prevention body to make first visit to the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia

Torture prevention

19 April 2017

GENEVA (19 April 2017) – The United Nations Subcommittee on Prevention of Torture (SPT) is due to make its first visit to the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia from 23 to 29 April 2017 to assess the treatment of persons deprived of their liberty, as well as the measures taken for their protection against torture and ill-treatment.  

The SPT delegation will visit places where people are or may be deprived of liberty, including but not limited to prisons, police stations, psychiatric institutions, detention centres for migrants and asylum seekers and children.  

The experts will meet State officials, UN and civil society representatives, and also hold discussions with the national detention monitoring body, officially known as the National Preventive Mechanism. 

“This visit will hopefully be a substantial step in assisting the State Party to fully implement its obligations under the Optional Protocol to the Convention against Torture and strengthen the protection of persons deprived of liberty from torture and ill-treatment, including migrants and children,” said Aisha Shujune Muhammad, who will head the SPT delegation.  

“During our visit we will also focus on ways of strengthening the efforts of the National Preventive Mechanism to prevent and eliminate torture or other cruel, inhuman or degrading treatment of detainees. This includes giving guidance to ensure its effective functioning,” she said. 

At the end of the visit, the SPT will present its confidential preliminary observations to the Government. For the SPT, the key to preventing torture and ill-treatment lies in building constructive relations with the State concerned, and its guiding principles are cooperation and confidentiality.  

The SPT delegation will comprise: Ms. Aisha Shujune Muhammad (Head of Delegation), Ms. Mari Amos, Sir Malcolm Evans and Ms. June C. Pagaduan Lopez. 


For media inquiries or for more information, please contact:  

In the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia: Emilie Thage (+41 22 917 96 86 or + 41 70 201 01 19 / [email protected])  

In Geneva: Liz Throssell (+41 22 917 94 66 / [email protected]) 


The Optional Protocol to the Convention against Torture and other Cruel, Inhuman or Degrading Treatment or Punishment has, to date, been ratified by 83 countries. The SPT communicates its recommendations and observations to States by means of a confidential report and, if necessary, to National Preventive Mechanisms. However, States parties are encouraged to request that the SPT makes these reports public.  

The SPT is composed of 25 independent and impartial experts from different regions of the world. 

For more information on the mandate of Subcommittee, please visit:

Tag and share - Twitter: @UNHumanRights and Facebook: unitednationshumanrights