Skip to main content

A total of 151 experts have served as members of the Committee since 1982.

Information on membership of the CEDAW Committee from 1982 to present.

The officers of the Committee consist of a Chairperson, three Vice-Chairpersons and a Rapporteur. Office-bearers serve for two year terms and are eligible for re-election "provided that the principle of rotation is upheld".

Membership of the Committee on the Elimination of Discrimination against Women, As of 1 January 2023 and up to 31 December 2026.

Name of Member Nationality Term expires on 31 December
Ms. Brenda Akia Uganda 31.12.2026
Ms. Hiroko Akizuki (Vice-Chair) Japan 31.12.2026
Ms. Nicole Ameline France 31.12.2024
Ms. Marion Bethel (Rapporteur) Bahamas 31.12.2024
Ms Leticia Bonifaz Alfonzo
English | Español
Mexico 31.12.2024
Ms.Rangita de Silva de Alwis Sri Lanka 31.12.2026
Ms. Corinne Dettmeijer-Vermeulen The Netherlands 31.12.2024
Ms. Esther Eghobamien-Mshelia (Vice-Chair) Nigeria 31.12.2026
Ms. Hilary Gbedemah Ghana 31.12.2024
Ms. Yamila González Ferrer Cuba 31.12.2026
Ms. Daphna Hacker Israel 31.12.2026
Ms. Nahla Haidar Lebanon 31.12.2024
Ms. Dalia Leinarte Lithuania 31.12.2024
Ms. Rosario G. Manalo Philippines 31.12.2024
Ms. Marianne Mikko Estonia 31.12.2026
Ms. Maya Morsy Egypt 31.12.2026
Ms. Ana Peláez Narváez (Chair)
中文 | English | Français | Русский | Español
Spain 31.12.2026
Ms. Bandana Rana Nepal 31.12.2024
Ms. Rhoda Reddock Trinidad and Tobago 31.12.2026
Mr. Elgun Safarov
PDF: English | русский
WORD: English | русский
Azerbaijan 31.12.2026
Ms. Natasha Stott Despoja
العربية | English | Français | русский | Español
Australia 31.12.2024
Ms. Genoveva Tisheva (Vice-Chair) Bulgaria 31.12.2026
Ms. Jie Xia China 31.12.2024

The persons elected to the Committee are those nominees who obtained the largest number of votes and an absolute majority of the votes of the representatives of States parties present and voting.

The Committee on the Elimination of Discrimination against Women is established under article 17 of the Convention. It is composed of 23 experts who are elected by secret ballot by States parties. The Committee is tasked with the review of the reports of States parties submitted in accordance with article 18 of the Convention.

The Optional Protocol to the Convention, which entered into force in December 2000, empowers the Committee to consider communications submitted by individuals or groups of individuals alleging violations of the Convention in States parties to the Convention and the Optional Protocol. The Optional Protocol also entitles the Committee of its own motion to inquire into grave or systematic violations of the Convention in those States parties where this procedure is applicable, in accordance with articles 8 and 10.

Committee members serve in their personal capacities, and not as representatives of the States parties which present their candidature.