Skip to main content


Committee on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities

The Committee is composed of 18 members of high moral standing and recognized competence and experience in the field covered by the Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities.

Members are elected for a term of four years by States parties from among their nationals, consideration being given to equitable geographical distribution, relevant legal experience and balanced gender representation. Members serve in their personal capacity and not as representatives of the States parties which present their candidature. They may be re-elected if re-nominated.

Regular scheduled elections are held to replace members of the Committee when their terms expire.

Current members
Name State Term expires
31 December
Mr. Muhannad Salah AL-AZZEH Jordan 2026
English | Español
Guatemala 2024
Ms. Rehab Mohammed BORESLI Kuwait 2026
Mr. Abdelmajid MAKNI* Morocco 2024
Ms. Gerel DONDOVDORJ Mongolia 2024
Ms. Vivian FERNÁNDEZ DE TORRIJOS - Rapporteur Panamá 2024
Ms. Odelia FITOUSSI - Vice Chair Israel 2024
Ms. Amalia GAMIO RIOS - Vice Chair Mexico 2026
Ms. Laverne JACOBS
English | Français
Canada 2026
Mr. Samuel Njuguna KABUE Kenya 2024
Ms. Rosemary Kayess - Vice Chair
العربية  | English | Français | Español
Australia 2026
Ms. Miyeon KIM Republic of Korea 2026
Mr. Alfred Kouadio KOUASSI
English | Français
Ivory Coast 2026
Mr Robert George MARTIN New Zealand 2024
Mr. Floyd MORRIS Jamaica 2024
Ms. Gertrude OFORIWA FEFOAME - Chairperson
English | Français | Español
Ghana 2026
Mr. Markus SCHEFER
English | Français | Español
Switzerland 2026
Ms. Saowalak THONGKUAY Thailand 2024

* Appointed, pursuant to article 34 (9) of the Convention) to serve for the reminder of the term of former Committee member Ms. Soumia Amrani.


The members elect the Committee’s officers for two-year terms (renewable). These officers are:

  • The Committee’s Chairperson, with overall responsibility for the conduct of the Committee’s work;
  • Three Vice-Chairpersons;
  • The Rapporteur, who prepares the Committee’s reports to the General Assembly.
More resources