United Nations Human Rights Prize

The winners of the prestigious United Nations Prize in the Field of Human Rights were:

FIRST AWARD - December 1968 - 20th Anniversary of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights

- Manuel Bianchi (Chile), Ambassador, Chairman of Inter-American Commission on Human Rights
- René Cassin (France), Original member of Human Rights Commission
- Chief Albert Luthuli (posthumously) (South Africa), President of the ANC
- Mehranguiz Manoutchehrian (Iran), Attorney/Legal Adviser and Senator
- Petr Emelyanovich Nedbailo (Ukraine), Member, Human Rights Commission
- Mrs. Eleanor Roosevelt (posthumously) (U.S.A.), First Lady, President of the Human Rights Commission

SECOND AWARD - December 1973 - 25th Anniversary of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights

- **Dr. Taha Hussein** (posthumously) (Egypt), Professor of Literature
- C. Wilfred Jenks (posthumously) (UK), Director-General of International Labour Office
- Maria Lavalle Urbina (Mexico), Lawyer, Professor
- Bishop Abel Muzorewa (Zimbabwe), President of the ANC, Bishop of United Methodist Church
- Sir Seewoosagur Ramgoolam (Mauritius), Prime Minister of Mauritius
- **U Thant** (Myanmar), Secretary-General of the United Nations

THIRD AWARD - December 1978- 30th Anniversary of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights

- Begum Ra'Ana Liaquat Ali Khan (Pakistan)
- Prince Sadruddin Aga Khan (Iran)
- Reverend Dr. Martin Luther King (Posthumously) (USA)
- Mrs. Helen Suzman (South Africa)
- The International Committee of the Red Cross
- Amnesty International
- Vicaria de la Solidaridad (Chile)
- Union nationale des femmes de Tunisie

FOURTH AWARD - December 1988- 40th Anniversary of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights

- Baba Murlidhar Devidas Amte (India), Lawyer
- John Humphrey (Canada) Director, United Nations Division of Human Rights
- Prof. Adam Lopatka (Poland), President, Supreme Court of Poland
- **Bishop Leonidas Proaño** (Ecuador)
- Nelson Mandela (South Africa)
- Winnie Mandela (South Africa)

FIFTH AWARD - December 1993- 45th Anniversary of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights

- Mr. Hassib Ben Ammar (Tunisia), President of the Arab Institute for Human Rights
- Dr. Erica-Irene Daes (Greece), Chair/Rapporteur, Working Group on Indigenous Populations
- James Grant (U.S.A.), Executive Director of UNICEF
- The International Commission of Jurists
- The Medical Personnel of the Central Hospital of Sarajevo

- **Dr. Sonia Picado Sotela** (Costa Rica), Jurist, Vice President of the Inter-American Court of Human Rights
- Ganesh Man Singh (Nepal), Supreme Leader of the Nepali Congress
- The Sudanese Women's Union
- Father Julio Tumiri Javier (Bolivia), Founder and President, Permanent Assembly of Human Rights in Bolivia

SIXTH AWARD - December 1998 - 50th Anniversary of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights

- Sunila Abeyesekera (Sri Lanka), Director of Inform
- **Angelina Acheng Atyam** (Uganda), who has worked to secure the release of children in rebel captivity in Uganda
- **Jimmy Carter** (U.S.A.), former President of the United Sates
- Jose Gregori (Brazil), Head of the Brazilian National Secretariat for Human Rights
- Anna Sabatova (Czech Republic), one of the founding members of "Charter 77"
- A Prize was given in honour of all **human rights defenders**.

SEVENTH AWARD - December 2003 - 55th Anniversary of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights

- Enriqueta Estela Barnes de Carlotto (Argentina), President of the Asociación Abuelas de Plaza de Mayo [Association of Plaza de Mayo Grandmothers]
- Deng Pufang (China), Founder and Director of the China Disabled Persons' Federation
- The Family Protection Project Management Team (Jordan)
- **Shulamith Koenig** (U.S.A), Executive Director of the People's Movement for Human Rights Education
- The Mano River Women's Peace Network in West Africa (network of women's organizations from Sierra Leone, Liberia, and Guinea)
- Sergio Vieira de Mello (Brazil), special posthumous award

EIGHTH AWARD - December 2008 - 60th Anniversary of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights

- Louise Arbour (Canada), former UN High Commissioner for Human Rights
- **Benazir Bhutto** (posthumously) (Pakistan), former Prime Minister and leader of the opposition who was assassinated.
- Ramsey Clark (U.S.A.), former Attorney General
- **Dr. Carolyn Gomes** (Jamaica), of Jamaicans for Justice
- **Dr. Denis Mukwege** (Democratic Republic of the Congo), co-founder of the General Referral Hospital of Panzi
- Sr. Dorothy Stang (posthumously) (Brazil), murdered nun, Human Rights Watch

NINTH AWARD - December 2013 - 65th Anniversary of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights

- **Biram Dah Abeid** (campaigner against slavery) from Mauritania
- **Hiljmnijeta Apuk** (human rights activist and campaigner for rights of people with disproportional restricted growth short stature) from Kosovo*
- Liisa Kauppinen (President emeritus of the World Federation of the Deaf) Finland
- Khadija Ryadi (Former President of the Morocco Association for Human Rights) Morocco
- Supreme Court of Justice of Mexico (Mexico's Constitutional Court)
- Malala Yousafzai (student activist), Pakistan